Skip to main content

Election Recount Information

2012 Recall State Senate District 21 Recount Information

State Senate D-21 Election and Recount Results

Candidate Unofficial Recount (certified)
Van H. Wanggaard 35,517  35,539
John Lehman 36,351  36,358
Scattering (write-ins) 56  58

Based on a petition from Van H. Wanggaard, the Government Accountability Board has ordered a recount in the District 21 State Senate Recall Election, which was held June 5, 2012.

The recount began Wednesday, June 20, and was conducted by the Racine County Board of Canvassers. The recount concluded Monday, July 2. Sen. Wanggaard's campaign had until close of business on Tuesday, July 10, to file a challenge in court. No challenge was filed, and the G.A.B. certified the results July 11, 2012.

See the attachment "Totals Recount 06-2012 through Day 11.xls" below for the final recount details.

For questions about how recounts are conducted, please consult the Recount Manual and the Recount Plan  document attached below. Also, consult the Recount Questions and Answers section.

The recount process was open to the public.

Each day during the recount the G.A.B. posted a spreadsheet update from the previous day's results, as provided by Racine County.

Also attached below are the recount order, a ward-by-ward tabulation of the unofficial results, and other relevant documents.

Recount Order SD-21 6 2012.pdf29.79 KB
Unofficial Ward by Ward Results SD-21.pdf455.27 KB
Recount Plan Final.pdf35.41 KB
Recount Checklists.txt.pdf324.64 KB
Totals Recount 06-2012 through Day 1.xls34 KB
Totals Recount 06-2012 through Day 2.xls35 KB
Totals Recount 06-2012 through Day 3.xls40 KB
Totals Recount 06-2012 through Day 4.xls37 KB
Totals Recount 06-2012 through Day 5.xls41.5 KB
Totals Recount 06-2012 through Day 6.xls42.5 KB
Totals Recount 06-2012 through Day 7.xls44 KB
Totals Recount 06-2012 through Day 8.xls45.5 KB
Totals Recount 06-2012 through Day 9.xls47 KB
Totals Recount 06-2012 through Day 10.xls48.5 KB
Totals Recount 06-2012 through Day 11.xls48.5 KB

2011 Supreme Court Statewide Recount Information

The Government Accountability Board ordered a statewide recount, based on the Kloppenburg campaign's  request, of votes in the April 5, 2011 Wisconsin Supreme Court election. The recount is now complete. The Government Accountability Board certified David T. Prosser Jr. as the winning candidate in the April 5, 2011 election for Supreme Court Justice, following a recount of ballots conducted by Boards of Canvassers in Wisconsin’s 72 counties. The Board’s certification notes that Justice Prosser received a total of 752,694 votes and that JoAnne F. Kloppenburg received 745,690 votes, a difference of 7,004 votes, or 0.46%. A total of 1,729 write-in votes were cast for other individuals.

Prior to the recount, Board staff held a teleconference for County Clerks, which is archived on Wisconsin Eye.

The Government Accountability Board, represented by the Wisconsin Department of Justice, filed a legal action in Dane County Circuit Court to establish the ground rules for Optech Eagle tabulating equipment used in the statewide recount of votes in the Wisconsin Supreme Court election.  Attorneys for the G.A.B. and the candidates reached a stipulated agreement to hand-count ballots in parts of 31 counties that use Optech Eagle scanners.

For detailed information about how recounts are conducted in Wisconsin, please consult the Election Recount Procedures Manual.

New! County-by-county page of certified recount results.


Authenticity of Ballots and Responsibility for Conducting Recounts

Questions about the authenticity of ballots have arisen during the recount process due to holes in some ballot bags, gaps in their closure or issues with security tags. A hole in a ballot bag or a missing security tag is not enough evidence alone to discard the ballots inside.  The ability to put a hand into a ballot bag is not by itself evidence of fraud. 

Certified Supreme Court Recount Totals

These are official recount results reported by the County Boards of Canvassers. The results have been certified and signed by the G.A.B.

County By County Spring 2011 Election and Recount.xls34 KB
Ward By Ward Spring 2011 Election and Recount.xls578.5 KB

Latest Recount News

  • May 20, 2011 - 12:59pm

    The Iowa County Board of Canvassers reconvened this morning, Friday, May 20, 2011 at 10:00 a.m. to correct errors in three reporting units.  A total of four ballots (two ballots in one reporting unit, one in each other) were improperly rejected by the canvass board for not having proper initials by the election officials.  Ballots may only be rejected if there are either excess ballots to voter numbers cast or if errors are identified during absentee reconciliation.  These scenarios did not apply to this situation.  The amended certification report may be found on the county-by-county page or certified results and the recount daily updates.

  • May 13, 2011 - 11:59am

    At 11:30 a.m. Friday, Judge Neiss held a status conference on Waukesha County's progress in the recount.

    Waukesha County Corporation Counsel Tom Farley said the Board of Canvassers is making significant additional progress on the recount now that it has been moved to a larger room. 

    Judge Niess had originally extended the recount deadline to May 26. Farley said he now hopes Waukesha County's recount can be completed by Friday, May 20, or by Monday, May 23.  He also reported that they are finishing the city of Waukesha, and about 80,000 of the approximately 125,000 votes cast have been recounted so far.  He predicted that the speed will increase as the Board of Canvassers recounts larger municipalities, and less downtime occurs between reporting units.


Syndicate content